events
Archived Events



Tuesday, October 22, 2019 | 6:00pm - 8:30pm
 


Sunday, October 20, 2019
 


Thursday, October 17, 2019 | 6:00pm - 8:00pm
 

Japanese American National Museum

Featuring Grace Lee, Fawzia Mirza, Tess Paras, Kristina Wong, moderated by Ada Tseng

RSVP: https://dawnofanewday.eventbrite.com



Wednesday, October 9, 2019 | 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Asian American Studies Department Welcome Reception
 

UCLA Rolfe Hall - Room 2125




October 3-17, 2019
 

UCLA Kerckhoff Art Gallery

RSVP for the Opening Night on October 3, 2019



Tuesday, October 1, 2019 | 4:00pm to 6:00pm
 

Rolfe Hall Courtyard
RSVP: https://EIS2019.eventbrite.com



Monday, September 23, 2019
Asian American Studies — Master of Arts Student Orientation
 
Campbell Hall 3230


Sunday, September 22, 2019 | 3:30 pm to 5:00 pm
 
Pilipino Workers Center, 153 Glendale Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90026
RSVP: http://bit.ly/EMOTIONAL2019


Saturday, September 21, 2019 | 7:00pm to 10:00pm
 
Japanese American Cultural and Community Center - Aratani Theatre
244 San Pedro St, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Featuring: Quetzal Quartet & Friends, TAIKOPROJECT, Aloe Blacc, Maya Jupiter, Alice Bag

Ticekt Info: https://give.ltsc.org/event/we-got-your-back-pack/e244270


Saturday & Sunday, September 14 & 15, 2019
 
Laemmle Arhya Theater, 8556 Wilshire Blvd., Beverly Hills, CA 902112
More information: Event ticket $15


Saturday, September 14, 2019 | 1:00pm to 3:30pm
 
Buddhist Church of Sacramento


Saturday, July 13, 2019 | 11:00am to 2:00pm
 
UCLA James West Alumni Center — Founders Room
Info: http://www.aasc.ucla.edu/vids/reunion50.aspx


Sunday, June 16, 2019 - 10:30 AM to 12:00 PM
Asian American Studies Department Commencement
 

UCLA Schoenberg Hall Main Auditorium

More information: http://www.asianam.ucla.edu/commencement



Tuesday, June 11, 2019 - 4:30 PM to 6:00 PM
EthnoCommunications Student Films Showcase
 

UCLA Public Affairs Building - Room 2343



Saturday, May 25, 2019 - 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM
Mountain Movers: Student Activism and the Emergence of Asian American Studies Southern California Book Launch
 

341 FSN, 341 First Street North, Los Angeles, CA 90012



Thursday, May 23, 2019 - 5:30PM to 8:30PM
Southeast Asian Deportation Awareness Forum
 

5:30-6:45 PM Reception with Refreshments

7:00-8:30 PM Program

UCLA Tom Bradley International Hall, Room 300

417 Charles E Young Drive West, Los Angeles, CA 90024



Saturday, May 18, 2019 - 11:00 AM
UCLA Alumni Day - Celebrating Ethnic Studies at UCLA: Past, Present and Future Panel
 

UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center Library - Haines Hall Room 144



Thursday, May 16, 2019 - 12:30PM to 1:45PM
Talk by Professor Dr. Minqi Li, University of Utah, on China and the Twenty-First Century Crisis
 

UCLA Location TBA



Wednesday, May 15, 2019 - 5:30PM to 8:30PM
 

5:30-6:45PM Reception with Refreshments

7:00-8:30PM Program

UCLA Northwest Campus Lobby and Auditorium

350 De Neve Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90024



Tuesday, May 14, 2019 - 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM
Forum by the UCLA Asia Pacific Center on the impact of Chinese immigration on the United States featuring May Chen
 
UCLA Luskin Conference Center


Tuesday, April 30, 2019 - 12:30 PM to 2:00 PM
Book Talk for Trespassers?: Asian Americans and the Battle for Suburbia by Willow Lung-Amam
 
UCLA Public Affairs Building - Room 2355


Thursday, April 25 to Saturday, April 27, 2019
Association for Asian American Studies Conference
 
Madison Concourse Hotel, 1 West Dayton St, Madison, WI 53703


Saturday, April 20, 2019
Creating Community Media Boot Camp: an EthnoCommunications workshop**
 
Session #1: 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM & Session #2: 1:30 PM to 4:30 PM
FSN 341, 341 First Street North, Los Angeles, CA 90012